Dayton Officers Honored.jpg

Press Release from the Office of Senate Majority Communications

COLUMBUS - State Senator Steve Huffman (R-Tipp City) and Senate President Larry Obhof (R- Medina) today joined President Donald Trump and Lieutenant Governor Jon Husted for a special ceremony awarding the Medal of Valor to the Dayton police officers who responded to the tragic shooting last month.

Dayton Officers Honored 2.png

The six officers, who responded within 32 seconds of the shooting, were Sgt. William C. Knight, Officers Brian Rolfes, Jeremy Campbell, Vincent Carter, Ryan Nabel and David Denlinger.

"Thank you to these outstanding officers, who demonstrated great courage in the face of danger," said Huffman. "Your selfless sacrifice is more than deserving of the Medal of Valor. I am humbled by your example and grateful for your service to our community."

Dayton Officers Honored 1.png

According to the U.S. Department of Justice, the Public Safety Officer Medal of Valor is the highest decoration for bravery exhibited by public safety officers in the United States.

“The courageous response of these Dayton police officers saved many lives from a hateful attack,” said Obhof. “Their community, state and nation thank them for their unflinching bravery and service.”

Copyright 2019 by Lima Communications Corp. All rights reserved.

Digital Content Manager

Hi, I'm the Digital Content Manager here at Your Hometown Stations managing our online content. I also help out with posting press releases and articles from our news department from time to time.